eGustibus

A +/- Look at NYC Food

Craftsteak

Tom Collichio… you have answered my prayers.  Thank you for bringing Craftsteak to New York.  I love Craftsteak.  I ate at the one in Vegas.  I liked it so much, I ate there a second time… something I wouldn't normally do in a town with so many buffets (so many buffets, so little time).  Eating there is the reason Craft was at the top of my list of places to eat when I moved to New York.  See, before eating at Craftsteak, I had never heard of Craft, or Grammercy Tavern, or Top Chef, or the name Tom Collichio.  Oh, but how one grass fed Ribeye and one corn fed New York strip steak can change all that (the beet salad and mushrooms don't hurt either).

Which brings me to the first point about this place.  If you don't like Craft, you're probably not going to like Craftsteak.  It's pretty much the same restaurant, with alot more meat (hence the name).  Same concept, same sides… same deal.  If you went to Craft and thought "I didn't like ordering everything ala carte" or "This is too expensive", save yourself the trip and skip this restaurant.  If you love Craft, and you love steak, then I'm guessing you'll like this place.

Now if you've been to the Craftsteak in Vegas, there are a few differences between the two places.  First, the menu is much larger.  In Vegas you have a choice of about 8 different steaks cooked two different ways (fed corn or grass).  Well New York is no Vegas my friend, and Tom C. proved it with a whopping 14-17 different steaks, from 3 different providers, including an assortment of house dry aged New York strip steaks which you choose the length of time they were aged.  It's pretty mind boggling.

What we ate and the +/- after the jump…Like I said before I have been to Craftsteak in Vegas twice, and Craft once so I've had my share of the Craft side dishes.  And by my share, I mean all of them.  All of your Craft favorites are here… Hen of the Woods, Jerusalem Artichokes, Potatoes- every delicious way imaginable, roasted beets, I could go on and on.  The one stand out on the menu was easily the Fried Zucchini Blossoms.  I knew from the minute I saw the picture on Augieland I had to have them.  Unfortunately, everyone else had the same idea, and they were out the night we went.  A huge disappointment… but it's the restaurant's first week open- so it was forgiveable.  Now, just like with Craft you want to go with as many people as possible so you order more side dishes.  But on this night, it was only me and the wife and we decided we didn't want to stuff ourselves so we settled on the Fried Artichokes, which were delicious.  Not breaded, but still crispy- they were really oustanding. The rest of the sides we had already tried in our previous visits to Craft NYC, and Craftsteak Vegas so we saved out appetites for the steaks! 

We knew we wanted to try one of the in house dry aged Hereford New York Strip steaks, so we went for the 28 day, which not coincidentally was the cheapest (a relative term at $42).  The taste was delicious, but the steak was actually a little tough… and here's where the meal took a disappointing turn.  The meat appeared to be cooked perfectly, so it got us wondering.  Why was this steak so tough?  Should we have spent the extra $6 for the 35 day steak?  I've never had dry aged steak before.  Is this the texture steak that's been dry aged?  Maybe it's just a hiccup on the restaurant's first week being opened?  If anybody knows the answer to this question… please feel free to comment.  I came close to asking one of the waiters, but ended up wussing out.

Craftsteak, NYC

 We moved on to the Grass Fed Hawaiian Angus Beef Ribeye ($39) which was definetely better.  Really tender, and a delicious taste (you may say the secret ingredient is butter). But despite the good Ribeye, it didn't blow us away, and it was nearly as good as any of the steaks I had had in Vegas.  It was really puzzling, and ended up making for a disappointing meal.

That being said, I am certainly not writing this place off.  We ordered one side dish and two steaks that might not have been the best on the menu… and on top of that- we were there on the first week the place was open.  I'm not trying to make excuses, but there's no question Craftsteak will survive and thrive in NYC.

THE +

  • If you like Craft, and you like Steak…. um… you'll probably like Craftsteak
  • Definetely better if you are with a large party so you can order more side dishes and compare the different steaks with each other

THE –

  • You don't like Craft… i.e. you don't like ordering your side dishes seperately
  • You don't like Craft… i.e. you think it's way to expensive
  • Going with two people puts you at a disadvantage because you can't try as many things
  • You are looking for a standard "Steakhouse"
  • You are expecting the best "steak" you've ever had.

HELPFUL LINKS

May 6, 2006 - Posted by | Food: American (New), Location: Meatpacking, Price: Very Expensive

Leave a Comment »

  1. Regarding the texture of dry-aged steak…

    A steak that is dry aged will be firmer, but shouldn’t be tough. A wet-aged steak will usually be softer, almost kind of mushy.

    Comment by ES | June 21, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

